Outstanding volunteers honoured at 15th Annual Community Spirit Awards

Thu, 09 Jun 2016

Record-breaking 38 individuals, groups and organizations nominated

Oakville’s most inspiring volunteers were celebrated for their exemplary contributions to the community at the 15th Annual Community Spirit Awards held last night at Queen Elizabeth Park Community and Cultural Centre.

2016 Community Spirit Award recipients:

  • Nicky Lawson, Access Award sponsored by Access Abilities
  • Dawne Rudman, Arts Award sponsored by the Oakville Beaver
  • BusiWomen, Group Volunteer Award sponsored by the Town of Oakville
  • Greg Munz, Heritage Award sponsored by Genworth Financial Canada
  • James Montague, Individual Volunteer Award sponsored by Paradiso Restaurant
  • Fred Drews, Senior Award sponsored by the Town of Oakville
  • Matteo Esposito, Youth Award sponsored by RBC Royal Bank

“On behalf of Council, I congratulate both the nominees and recipients of the Community Spirit Awards,” said Mayor Rob Burton. “Oakville’s volunteer participation rate is consistently above the provincial and national averages. Our town is a better, more livable place for their commitment and dedication.”

Chris Mei, television host of the Weather Network, was the emcee for the evening, entertaining the audience while sponsors handed out the awards. Each recipient received a one-of-a-kind award designed by local furniture and wood-working artists Joseph Bauman and Dayna Gedney.

More information

Since 2002, Oakville’s Community Spirit Awards have recognized individuals and groups for their outstanding contributions to the community. Visit the Oakville Community Spirit Awards page for more details.