Oakville summer camp staff recognized for outstanding leadership

Tue, 23 Aug 2016

Awards presented in memory of program leader Ray McConnell

The Town of Oakville’s Summer Sizzler day camp leaders, coordinators, staff and volunteers gathered at the Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts last night to honour 2016 achievements and celebrate the end of another successful summer of programming.

“The summer camp team never ceases to amaze us. Over the last two months, more than 11,000 campers took part in our camps,” said Nina de Vaal, director of Recreation and Culture. “This was made possible through 170 enthusiastic summer camp leadership staff and volunteers. Your contributions are invaluable and ensure the ongoing success of our summer camp programs.”

The awards night honoured the memory of Ray McConnell, a former leader in the Oakville Parks and Recreation Summer Activity Centre program from 1979 to 1981. McConnell tragically lost his life on September 1, 1982 in a motorcycle accident involving an impaired driver. He is remembered for his outstanding leadership and dedication to the town’s summer programs for children.

The Ray McConnell Memorial Leadership Award, presented by the McConnell family, is given to the summer camp staff member who best exemplifies leadership and contributes greatly to the Oakville community. Awards are also given for Rookie of the Year, HIGH FIVE® Lifetime Achievement, Champion, Extra Mile Club, and Five-Year Service for staff who have shown a commitment to adhering to the principles of the HIGH FIVE program, and dedication to recreation services.

The 2016 Summer Camp Leadership Award recipients are:

  • Ray McConnell Memorial Leadership Award Winner: Maeve Gamble
  • Carol Gall Rookie of the Year Award: Seane Thorman
  • HIGH FIVE Lifetime Achievement Award: Ms. Carol Gall
  • HIGH FIVE Champion Award winners: Lauren Ashby, Lauren Gentile, Adam Quesnel, Brett Sherratt, Laura Wirkowski, Michaela Yan
  • Extra Mile Club Award Winners: Zack Shaban, Grant Vassos, Jordan O’Dell, Brittany DiTrani, Sydney Cudmore, Connor Clarke
  • Five-year Service Award Winners: Adrienne Henry, Hailee Silva, Zack Shaban, Jordan O’Dell, Arielle Zamdvaiz, Liam Levasseur, Allison Kula, Connor Clarke, Abbie Winger, Nicky Delorey, Aline Saffran, Ilias Scretas, Elisa Passarelli, Colin Barrett.

After 30 years with the Town of Oakville, recreation supervisor Carol Gall was honoured with the HIGH FIVE Lifetime Achievement Award. Staff also unveiled the newly named Carol Gall Rookie of the Year Award just weeks before her September retirement.

“Carol’s sense of humour and dedication to recreation is contagious. Throughout her time with the town, she has enhanced children’s programming and summer camps through expansion and innovation,” said de Vaal. “An advocate for the HIGH FIVE principles, Carol expertly integrates them into our diverse programs. Her leadership, creativity and passion for camps will be missed.”   

The Town of Oakville’s summer camps are geared toward children aged four to 12 and are accredited by the provincial HIGH FIVE program. HIGH FIVE supports the well-being of children and encourages healthy development in sport and recreational programs. Oakville’s day camps were the first in the Region of Halton to be accredited by the HIGH FIVE program.

For more information visit the camps page.