Outstanding volunteers honoured at 17th Annual Community Spirit Awards

Fri, 15 Jun 2018

Oakville’s best and brightest volunteers were celebrated for their exemplary contributions to the community at the 17th Annual Community Spirit Awards held last night at Queen Elizabeth Park Community and Cultural Centre.

2018 Community Spirit Award recipients:

  • Terry Bayley, Access Award sponsored by Access Abilities
  • Rena Sava, Arts Award sponsored by the Oakville Beaver
  • Siemens Canada Limited, Group Volunteer Award sponsored by the Town of Oakville
  • Susan Wells, Heritage Award sponsored by Genworth Financial Canada
  • Kristin Courtney, Individual Volunteer Award sponsored by Paradiso Restaurant
  • Fitzie James, Senior Award sponsored by Chartwell Waterford Retirement Residence  
  • Lana Hekmat, Youth Award sponsored by RBC Royal Bank

“Thank you to our community volunteers and every unsung hero for elevating the entire Oakville community with your spirit and inspiring dedication and commitment,” said Mayor Rob Burton. “I’m pleased our town was able to recognize some of these outstanding individuals and groups with a Community Spirit Award.”

Chris Mei, television host of the Weather Network, was the emcee for the evening, entertaining the audience while sponsors handed out the awards. Each recipient received a one-of-a-kind award created by artist Katie Fortier.

Since 2002, Oakville’s Community Spirit Awards have recognized individuals and groups for their outstanding contributions to the community.

Visit the Community Spirit Awards page for more information about the awards and this year’s recipients.