Council to appoint new Ward 4 Town Councillor on May 7, 2018

Tue, 01 May 2018

Seventeen candidates registered to fill vacancy

Seventeen candidates have applied to fill the position of Ward 4 Town Councillor. Oakville’s Town Clerk certified papers for the following candidates:

Lee Conley
Joel Dart
Rohit Dhamija
David Haslam
Hart Jansson
Lois Knepflar
Peter Longo
Peter MacFarlane
Cheryle McCullagh
Adrian Paris
Sushila Pereira
Gerald Popp
Jordan Rosenberg
Christopher Saunders
Adnan Shabaz
Oliver Vadas
Bob Vaudry

A special meeting of Council is scheduled for Monday, May 7, 2018 in Council Chamber at Town Hall to give each applicant five minutes to explain why he or she is the best candidate for the position. Council will then vote to appoint the successful candidate to fill the vacancy. The seat will be filled by appointment until the end of the current Town Council term which runs until November 30, 2018.

The position of Ward 4 Town Councillor was left vacant following the resignation of former councillor Roger Lapworth, who announced his resignation for personal reasons on March 29, 2018. Town Council officially declared the Ward 4 seat vacant at its meeting on April 3, 2018.

For the next term of Council, December 1, 2018 to November 14, 2022, the Ward 4 position will be filled through the 2018 Municipal Election on October 22. The nomination deadline is July 27 at 2 p.m. Candidates may complete and file nomination forms at the Clerk’s department at Town Hall now through to July 26 during regular business hours (Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.) and between 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. on July 27. Visit the Election website for more information.