Town announces 2019 Community Spirit Awards nominees

Thu, 16 May 2019

Winners will be revealed at the awards ceremony on June 6

The Town of Oakville is excited to announce the 44 nominees for the 2019 Community Spirit Awards. Congratulations to the following individuals and organizations nominated for their dedication and commitment to the Oakville community:

Access Award - sponsored by Access Abilities

  • Carol Gall
  • Patrick Lee and Judith Elaine Hung
  • Jude Smalley

Arts Award - sponsored by The Oakville Beaver

  • Amy McKenzie
  • Melissa Stolarz

Group Volunteer Award – sponsored by FirstOntario Credit Union

  • Corporations for Community Connections
  • Elder Technology Assistance Group
  • Food for Life Volunteer Group (271 Kerr Street)
  • Friendship Luncheon Volunteer Team Colborne Senior Centre
  • Hockey Cares
  • Gemma and Matt Hagerman
  • Oakville Sea Cadet Parent Committee
  • MIFA (Mississauga Indoor/International Football/Fitness Association)
  • Zonta Club of Oakville

Heritage Award - sponsored by Genworth Financial Canada

  • Marianne Hawthorne 

Individual Volunteer Award - sponsored by the Oakville Community Foundation

  • Matthew Aslett
  • Roger Balech
  • Janet Bedford
  • Caterine Bobesich
  • Ally Cooper
  • Dennis Ford
  • Joel Hamilton
  • Deb and Don Jackson
  • Judith Elaine Hung and Patrick Lee
  • Liza Mazzocato
  • Amy McKenzie
  • Jennifer Monte
  • Tanya Moschella
  • Andrew Needham
  • Sharon Richardson
  • Ron Salem
  • J. David Spearns
  • Mark Steiman
  • Vivien Szatan

Senior Award - sponsored by Chartwell Waterford Retirement Residence

  • Janet Bedford
  • Judy Carr
  • Carole Osborn
  • Penny Smith
  • Louise Yanick

Youth Award - sponsored by RBC Royal Bank

  • Tony Cao
  • Youssef Gendy
  • Sarah Yasini           
  • Oakville Symphony Youth Orchestra

The winners will be announced at the Community Spirit Awards ceremony and reception on Thursday, June 6 at the Queen Elizabeth Park Community and Cultural Centre located at 2302 Bridge Road.

Aiden Lee, a 15-year-old local abstract artist living with autism, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder and anxiety, is the designer of this year’s awards. Aiden encourages everyone to see from his side of the spectrum. Since 2017, Aiden has dedicated his time to bringing art to students all over Ontario through his "Art from the Heart" initiative. He believes that the power of colour, design, shape, and texture can be used to bridge the gaps in acceptance, ability, and communication. Visit Aiden Lee's website for more information.

Visit the Oakville Community Spirit Awards for more information.