Community Spirit Awards

Image of the 2015 Community Spirit Awards recipients.

Celebrate Oakville's 2016 Community Champions!

15th Annual Oakville Community Spirit Awards

We all have friends and colleagues who spend countless hours volunteering and supporting the many activities of our diverse community. This generous spirit is evident all around us.

Nominations are now closed. Stay tuned! The 2016 Community Spirit Award nominees will be announced soon!

Selection criteria

All award nominees must demonstrate:

  • Special or unique qualities that highlight how the person/organization has made a difference in the community;
  • Leadership, dedication, innovation and creativity; and
  • Long-term benefits or impact to the community.

The selection process

A Selection Committee consisting of Council members and community leaders will review each nomination and select the recipients. The Selection Committee reserves the right to move a nomination to a more appropriate category, if necessary. All decisions made by the Selection Committee are final.

Information gathered through the nomination process will be used to: develop a profile of the nominee, celebrate the nominees, and promote the Community Spirit Awards event.

The recognition process

Recipients will be notified in writing and invited to attend the awards ceremony on Wednesday, June 8, 2016 at Queen Elizabeth Park Community and Cultural Centre. Nominees, whether group or individual, will receive one complimentary ticket to attend the reception. Additional tickets can be purchased for $15 each.

Award categories

Access Award - sponsored by Access Abilities

Recognizes outstanding individuals, businesses or organizations that have made or are making a significant or ongoing voluntary contribution, beyond legislated requirements, to the well-being and advancement of people with disabilities.

Arts Award - sponsored by The Oakville Beaver

Recognizes an individual or organization that, through their volunteerism, has contributed to nurturing and enhancing the arts in Oakville.

Group Volunteer Award

Recognizes a group of three or more individuals who have come together to volunteer their time toward a shared goal/activity or event involving leadership, innovation and creativity. Activities or events can benefit all ages.

Heritage Award - sponsored by Genworth Financial Canada

Recognizes an individual or organization that has made an outstanding contribution to Oakville by aiding in the preservation and celebration of Oakville’s natural, built or cultural heritage.

Individual Volunteer Award - Sponsored by Paradiso Restaurant

Recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding volunteer contribution towards improving the well-being of Oakville residents of any age group.

Senior Award

Recognizes a senior individual or group (65 years and older) that has made an outstanding voluntary contribution to the Oakville community.

Youth Award - sponsored by RBC Royal Bank

Recognizes a youth individual or group (18 years and under) that has made positive contributions towards enriching Oakville’s quality of life.

2015 Community Spirit Awards winners

Outstanding achievements in volunteerism were recognized at the 14th Annual Community Spirit Awards at Queen Elizabeth Park Community and Cultural Centre on June 3, 2015.

Congratulations to:

  • Rob McLean, Access Award sponsored by Medi-Chair
  • The Oakville Wind Orchestra, Arts Award sponsored by the Oakville Beaver
  • The Silverhearts Association, Group Volunteer Award sponsored by Whole Foods
  • Sean Livingston, Heritage Award sponsored by Genworth Financial Canada
  • Flavia Ceschin, Individual Volunteer Award sponsored by Paradiso Restaurant
  • Malcolm McDonald, Senior Award sponsored by Amica at Oakville
  • Oakville Trafalgar High School Robotics Team, Youth Award sponsored by RBC Royal Bank

Thank you to our 2016 Community Spirit Award Sponsors