Burlington, Halton Hills, Milton and Oakville Form Halton Mayors Recovery Coordination Group

Wednesday, April 22, 2020

The mayors of Halton’s municipalities of Burlington, Halton Hills, Milton and Oakville have joined together to form the Halton Mayors Recovery Coordination Group.

Burlington Mayor Marianne Meed Ward, Halton Hills Mayor Rick Bonnette, Milton Mayor Gord Krantz and Oakville Mayor Rob Burton will coordinate and work together to prepare for a successful transition to a post-COVID-19 future and recovery period.

All four Mayors have made the commitment to keep each other apprised of decisions being considered in each respective municipality, share best practices, and coordinate when it comes to the recovery planning.

“From the beginning of the COVID-19 crisis, we have stayed in constant contact as we responded to this crisis so it makes sense that we remain aligned as we plan for the post-COVID 19 recovery phase,” said Mayor Marianne Meed Ward.

“Some residents in Milton work in the other Halton municipalities and vice-versa; so one of our immediate challenges will be restarting our economies in a safe manner that protects public health across all four municipalities,” said Milton Mayor Gordon Krantz.

“We all have diverse expertise and experience that will inform this group’s collective action. There is also a lot of talent and know-how in all of our municipalities that we as mayors can draw upon during the recovery phase,” said Mayor Rick Bonnette.

“I look forward to working with my fellow Mayoral colleagues. Whether it is on the CN Hub issue or the amalgamation question, we have found that we are stronger when we work together as a team,” said Mayor Rob Burton.