Town announces Community Spirit Awards nominees

Tuesday, May 16, 2023

Awards ceremony takes place at QEPCCC on June 8 at 7 p.m. 

The Town of Oakville is excited to announce the 44 nominees for this year’s Community Spirit Awards. Congratulations to the following individuals, organizations, businesses, and community groups (some received multiple nominations) who have been nominated for their positive impact on the Oakville community through volunteer efforts or acts of kindness.

Arts, Culture and Heritage Award - sponsored by the Oakville Beaver

  • Bonnie Glass – Wearable Art Show
  • Bronte Historical Society
  • Carlene Ling aka Vanda Li
  • Grant Foster
  • Margaret Catley
  • Marie Decker
  • Oakville Diwali Committee
  • Oakville Symphony Orchestra
  • Reem Al-Rawi
  • Steve Bysouth
  • Sybil Rampen
  • Wendy Donnan - Oakville Festivals of Film and Art (OFFA)

Climate Action - sponsored by FirstOntario Credit Union

  • Hannah Kohler
  • Mervyn Russell

Good Neighbour Award – sponsored by Chartwell Retirement Residences

  • Brenda O’Connor
  • Bruce Pellowe
  • Cecelia Lovelock
  • Kim Melhuish – Food Bank Friday Team
  • Leslie Osborne
  • Penny Smith 
  • Shelley Thornborrow 

Inclusion, Diversity, Equity and Accessibility Award - sponsored by Access Abilities 

  • Gennile Thomas-Smith 
  • Julia Hanna
  • Lynn Pike
  • Marlyne Van Exan
  • Nic Hotchkiss
  • Seniors Working Action Group

Inspiration Award - sponsored by RBC Royal Bank 

  • Danny Foran
  • Debbie Suleman
  • Desmond Jordan – Make a Great Pass Equipment Organization
  • Fabio de Rango
  • Jack Kukolic
  • Jeannie Garton
  • June Lee
  • Kacy Zhang
  • Kent Stirling
  • Lionel Latter
  • Lorna Van de Mosselaer
  • Margaret Larson
  • Patrick Gorman

Leadership and Innovation Award - sponsored by Amica Seniors Lifestyles

  • Grant Foster
  • Matthew Aslett and Tony Ceelen
  • Narine Dat Sookram
  • Sundeep Khosla

Award information

This is the 21st year the Community Spirit Awards is being celebrated after undergoing a refresh to include broader awards categories. The past two years have been combined into one special event celebrating 2021 and 2022 contributions. Nominees will be celebrated at the Queen Elizabeth Park Community and Cultural Centre (2302 Bridge Road) on Thursday, June 8, 2023. Doors open at 6:30 p.m., followed by the awards ceremony at 7 p.m. and a reception serving sweets and treats.

This year’s awards have been designed by local artist Rafia Shafiq, who specializes in phulkari embroidery. The embroidered work will be presented to each award recipient at the event, which will be emceed again by Weather Network host Chris Mei. 

Tickets will be available to the public on May 23, while tickets last. If you need assistance, please call the Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts at 905-815-2021 (Monday to Friday, 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.).

Visit the Oakville Community Spirit Awards page to learn more.